Pending Patience…

Prayer Requests:

  1. Please pray that I take one day at a time, trusting that the Lord’s plans for me are real and good.
  2. Please continue to pray for the eyes of my friend Dalia to be opened to the truth, and receive Jesus Christ as Lord over her life.
  3. Please pray that new believers in San Cristóbal see the value in a Church family.

I had a discouraging moment during my Spanish class the other day. I had come to class excited and confident after translating a story from the bible from English to Spanish. I hesitantly handed the story to my teacher, and impatiently waited for him to tell me how great it was. He compared the story to my Spanish bible and then carefully proceeded to tell me that it was all in the wrong tense. Therefore, it was all wrong…

I wanted to cry, thinking things like, “How can I share the truth of God’s word, when I can’t write or speak the language correctly. Why can’t language learning happen through osmosis? I only have a month left of language school, and then I’m on my own.” During this whole time my wonderful teacher was staring at me with a confused expression on his face as I had my, “woe is me” moment. I was collapsed on the table, with my face under my arm saying, “I can’t do this.”

My teacher reminded me that I was expecting too much of myself. I was expecting myself to understand a tense I had not learned, written, or spoken. The true source of my frustration was coming from a lack of patience. Only the Lord sustains me with His gift of patience. As I seek Him, He calmly reminds me of my need for Him. Patience is a reminder of where my source of strength comes from. Patience humbles. Patience sustains. Patience allows change and growth to take place.

IMG_5623.JPG

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control; against such things there is no law (Galatians 5:22-23).

2 comments

  1. Barbara Ford · January 2

    Remembering your prayer requests. I love the things you have to say about patience. It is a hard lesson sometimes.

    Sent from iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Russell Ford · January 3

    Very good thinking about patience. You are taking one day at a time that is patience.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

