Vamos a Oaxaca!

Prayer Requests

  1. Please pray for two of my female teachers (Dalia and Monica) to continue reading God’s Word, that the Holy Spirit would convict them of their need for a Savior and that they would give their lives to the Lord Jesus Christ.
  2. Please pray for my male friends Jorge and Noé. Pray that Jorge continues to grow in his relationship with Christ and that their family finds a church community. Praise God for the new salvation of my friend Noé and pray that he continues to place his trust in Jesus to transform him into something beautiful.
  3. Please pray that Dani and I trust the Lord as we transition from language school to working in the city and villages of Oaxaca.
  4. Please pray for the unity of our missionary team in Oaxaca, new relationships to be formed, and listening ears to the gospel.

Time seems to fly by here, I have now been here for four months! Our last day of language school is tomorrow and then its off to the, “final destination” ha. It’s funny how your perspective changes when God brings new people into your life. It’s crazy how God prompts in you a heart to love those He’s placed right in front of you. I love my friends here in San Cristobal. This was so much more then a time to prepare for Oaxaca. Yes, my “primary” objective was to learn as much Spanish as possible…but God blessed me with so much more then learning how to speak Spanish better. I had the opportunity to draw near to those who need Jesus! I was given the freedom to practice my Spanish while sharing the truth of God’s Word!

Dani and I had 3 hours of School everyday followed by 3 hours of community time. God provided community as soon as we arrived here. I formed relationships with my teachers. Dani and I almost always spent time with our teachers out of class. We went on the walking street for coffee, pizza, and exploration. Dani and I are more skilled in racquetball. We also made some great missionary friends while we were here. These missionaries already had some wonderful things going on in the community. Dani and I attended or hosted a bible story cooking class every Thursday evening. This was a fantastic way to practice Spanish, and share the Word of God with nationals. We also attended or hosted a bible study every Saturday. I really looked forward to fellowship with my national and missionary friends on Saturdays. We sang songs, shared bible stories, ate together, and played games together. I had the privilege of sharing, Jesùs Aleminta a las Multitudes (Jesus Feeds the 5000) last Saturday. My time here has been productive and fruitful. I am excited to meet those whom the Lord is preparing me to meet in the city and villages of Oaxaca.

To be continued…

img_0092

2 comments

  1. Barbara Ford · January 27

    Great picture and wonderful report! I am praying for your travels and for you as you settle in to your next place of service, having completed your time of language training. I thank God for you and for the relationships and changed lives you are leaving behind as He leads you forward.

    Like

  2. Kristy Ford · January 28

    Dear Tory,
    I’m so proud of you. What a full and abundant life you have described. My heart is full. God brought you community… but you were willing to embrace it with open and surrendered arms. I am so thrilled for you. Praise God!

    Like

Leave a Reply

