Sustaining Strength

New adventures call for taking on waves of change. The question is…how will I handle it? After being in Oaxaca for a few weeks, I have met more people than I knew during my four months of language school in Chiapas.
I have been teaching third, fifth, and sixth grade English in a village on Mondays and Thursdays. When I first heard about the opportunity to teach English in the school, my heart sank…I don’t know how to teach English. I’m not qualified for this. I didn’t receive a degree in teaching. But the Lord is teaching me that it doesn’t matter what the world would say. It only matters what He makes available. If He says, “Here is an open door, walk through it,” I want to be willing to walk through it, no matter what. I’ve found that in my willingness, He moves. When I submit to His leading, He leads. However, it is His voice that reminds me, His love that lifts me, and His strength that sustains me. It is a relationship–the most beautiful one I will have in my life.
I walked through the door–maybe not willingly at first. But I trust that He will provide me and equip me with the necessary skills. The kids are sweet and eager to learn from our team. The main purpose of our team teaching in the school is to share the Truth that we have come to know. Oh, that they would know of the only Savior, that they would place their faith in Jesus the Christ, the provider of eternal life and real relationships. I desire to be an example, to form relationships, to proclaim Truth, and to encourage and disciple. I desire to be on mission for Christ all the days of my life. He will handle the rest.
And by “rest,” I also mean physical and spiritual rest… There is much work to do. There are several opportunities and not enough people. This is a struggle. The Lord recently reminded me of my need to rely on Him and not man (Colossians 3:23). I want to share with you what I felt during a recent retreat on a beach in Mexico.
February 26, 2017
As I’ve looked at the power of the waves crashing against the sand of Puerto Escondido…I was feeling two specific things: Power and Fear. I felt POWER. I felt Him in the ocean breeze and in the smell of the salt in my hair. I felt Him in the misty salt water that kissed my skin and tongue. I thought…He is Lord. Only He can cause the oceans He created to sustain such power. I could only think of how little I truly understand about God. Yes, His character is fixed, unchanging. But, His character moves my very being…lifting my soul up, high like the waves of the ocean; He sustains me. He is what continues my existence, breathes life into my body. He has all of who I am. He is all I need. But there is also FEAR. With each rising and crashing blow, the waves scream of life and death. He is Judge. He is King. He is OVER ALL. My life could so easily be taken by that which God has created. Do I fear death? NO! I fear, and am in awe of, a God in control of life and death–in a God who has provided life for those who are dead, those who need Him. I, too, am screaming out, like the waves. Oh, let me cry out, “He is Lord! He has saved me from eternal drowning…”

img_5439

“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator  of the ends of the earth. He does not grow faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.” (Isaiah 40:28-29)

2 comments

  1. Barbara Ford · March 1

    Thank you for this inspirational reminder of the sustaining strength of our God. Thank you for sharing your thoughts while you were on the beach–clearly God was speaking to your heart in a special way at that time. He is especially fond of you!! And, so am I!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. martinro73 · March 2

    Tory! You describe so well the process of exploring new adventures. The exchange of trading our own weakness and fear for the awesome privilege of seeing Him rise up in strength and show us what is possible in His kingdom. Truly, no one will ever be able to take these moments of encounter away from you. Keep stepping through the doors He opens and in the words of Bilbo Baggins, “…if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” You’re already on a great adventure and I can’t wait to see what else you’ll do as you are swept off to all of the places He has planned for you to go! Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

