Staying Focused.

 

Prayer Requests:

  1. Please pray that I seek God first in all things.
  2. Praise God for our new friends in Howau!
  3. Please pray for the salvation of the family we are working with in Howau.
  4. Please pray for a group of my Oaxaqueño friends to share Christ with the people of Peru.

One of the main tools of the enemy is to distract…

He would love for me to stay inside my own head or choose to let emotion guide, rather than the Holy Spirit. The enemy would love for me to become isolated instead of talking to those who encourage me to pursue Christ. These last few weeks have brought their own challenges and distractions. Getting through this time required being in constant prayer, reading God’s word, and worshiping in the midst of struggle.

Through all the distractions that these past few weeks have brought, I find myself continuing to face a choice. Will I choose to let myself focus on the distractions of man or will I choose to persevere, endure, and run the race that the Lord has set before me? This question seems simple and yet it is amazing how easy it is to focus on physical self, rather than the faithful eternal.

Despite the challenges, the Lord is working and moving in the hearts of the Oaxaqueños. The three of us girls (Ashley, Dani, and I) have been welcomed into the home of a Zapotec (Indigenous group) family in the village of Howau. Last week we made a drink called tajate (made from cocoa and corn) with the grandmother. I watched eagerly as she carefully ground the cocoa beans and the cocoa flour together on a stone grinding table called a molcajate. The grandmother gave each one of us a chance to use the molcajate. It was backbreaking work that took all the strength of my arms to crush the ingredients into a paste-like dough.

After spending a few hours eating and drinking with the family, I shared the story of creation with them. It was during lunch hour, so there was a full table of both men and women. I proceeded to tell the story of Creation (Genesis 1-2) with kids playing loudly in the background, and the sound of tortillas ripping. The week before, we had learned how to make tortillas, and Dani had shared the story of Creation up to Christ. No matter what distractions are going on around me I want to choose to be involved in the work of the Lord. I don’t want to miss out on what He is doing.

2 comments

  1. Barbara Ford · April 17

    What a great affirmation of the faithfulness of God, who has sustained you and helped you keep your focus during very difficult times. Thank you for sharing this encouragement!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristy Ford · April 18

    Dear sweet Tory,
    Thank you for your commitment and efforts to stay focused on Christ and His will in the midst of many changes, distractions and difficulties. I am so encouraged and inspired by you.
    Love you,
    Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

